Call for Submissions for the Gregory Sprague Prize

The Committee on Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual & Transgender History (CLGBTH) will award the Gregory Sprague Prize for an outstanding published or unpublished paper, article, book chapter, or dissertation chapter on lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgendered, transsexual, and/or queer history completed in English by a graduate student in 2020 or 2021.

Submissions should be sent as one PDF file via email by 11:59pm (Pacific time), 15 October 2021 to all members of the prize committee. Questions can be addressed to prize committee chair, Cookie Woolner.

Prize Committee

More information

About Gregory Sprague

Nationally known for research in Chicago lesbian and gay history, Gregory A. Sprague co-founded the Committee on Lesbian and Gay History of the American Historical Association and was active in the Gay Academic Union.

In 1978 he founded the Chicago Gay History Project, a precursor of the Gerber/Hart Library. He lived in Chicago for ten years during which he made an impact not only within the local gay and lesbian community but also throughout scholastic and educational communities in which gay and lesbian history was considered taboo and ignored as an area of study.