Jury IHLIA Thesis Prize announced

Today, at the start of the Academic Year, IHLIA can proudly announce the jury of the Thesis Prize:

Afiah Vijlbrief (chair) has been a senior researcher at Rutgers (international centre of expertise on Sexual and Reproductive Health and Rights (SRHR)) since July 2021. Before that, she was a researcher at, among others, the Anti-Discrimination Bureau Radar and Movisie.

Jonas Roelens is assistant professor in Gender History at Radboud University Nijmegen and guest professor at, among others, Ghent University and the Vrije Universiteit Brussel.

Alex Bakker is a historian and writer who focuses on transgender issues. He is the author of the book Transgender in the Netherlands and the curator of the (current) IHLIA exhibition Extraordinary History: Transgender in the Netherlands.

Geertje Mak is assistant professor in Gender History at Radboud University Nijmegen and professor by special appointment in the Political History of Gender in the Netherlands (endowed chair due to the Wilhelmina Drucker Fundatie Foundation) at the UvA.

This expert jury will judge the entries of theses in the field of LGBTQI+ history in Flanders and the Netherlands, on quality and originality.

About the Thesis Prize

Every year, dozens of students at universities or colleges write a thesis on a subject in the field of lhbti history. Unfortunately, much of this material disappears into the proverbial drawer. That is a pity, of course. To make this research more visible and to reward it, IHLIA presents a biannual thesis prize for the best LGBTQI+ historical thesis.

Eligible for the prize are theses written at a Dutch or Flemish institute for higher education, at university level or higher professional education level (hbo), that received at least an 8 (NL) or 16 (BE) or more. Theses can be submitted in English as well as in Dutch. The thesis must have been written in the academic years 2019-2020 and 2020-2021 (between September 2019 and September 2021).

More information